Friday, June 25, 2010
week 6 reply to Stephanie
I found that post very interesting and different than any other I’ve read this semester. It seems like you are really letting out some emotion or maybe a personal situation but I can relate. I find it difficult to talk to my girlfriend sometimes. I think it’s because we speak so often I assume I already know the answers she is going to give me so I don’t even ask. I can tell when she’s upset and usually it’s over the same thing as the previous day. I can say that when we do get into a conversation it’s usually a pretty good one and most of the time it’s not a fight but many of the times the good conversations have to do with a fight we had before. I find it very easy to talk to strangers. Sometimes when I go out I just start talking to people because I like to hear other people’s stories and get a feel for who they are in a short amount of time. I guess I like to analyze things and talking to strangers is a for of evaluating a person in a very short amount of time. I usually don’t even ask their name but instead just spark the conversation. I actually met a lot of friends this way and sometimes didn’t know their name until after the 5th or 6th conversation. Well I found that post interesting and enjoyed reading it. Thanks
week 6 reply to Nick
Nick, I found your post interesting especially because I am attending a wedding this weekend. One of my good friends I grew up with is getting married. As a good friend he can tell me anything and he told me “damn I just wish we could get this over with” in the mean time in another conversation talking to his future wife she went on to say exactly what you described in your post. “She had been dreaming of this day since she was a little girl”. I wonder do most females think like that? It turns out the wedding and reception is costing them about 20k. No I’m not married or even close to it but I don’t think I would be willing to spend that much on a wedding. He said that he’s doing it because he knows how much it means to her but jeezzee 20k. That’s a down payment on a house and to blow it all on one event just seems upserd. I guess if I really loved my fiancĂ© and paying that much wouldn’t put me in sever debt then maybe I could work something out but still 20k is way too much money. I think you’re absolutely right on how this industry is making tons of cash on these events. I can’t say I agree with your co-workers opinion on why girls get married at such a young age because I think that making them feel more like adults has nothing to do with it. I do think people should wait on marriage just because of the high number of divorce rate we see now a days and many divorced couples say that getting married too young had a lot to do with the divorce and even worse many of them feel they missed out on their best years of life. The growing number of singles in their 30s is really proving this theory. Many people are getting married early then divorced in their late 20s, early 30s and trying to party and go out like they would of in their young 20s. This would be the most important reason not to get married young. I don’t want to feel like I missed out on anything because I was married so waiting I think is the best choice for me.
Week 6 blog
My gender moment of the week happened at work. I work in a mail order pharmaceutical company called Medco. I am in there purchasing department and purchase just about everything you can imagine for employees and production. This week we got a new hire that began working in my are not necessarily my department but her cube was in the same location where I sit at. As a new hire they give her own cube and prepare her to do her job. I have to buy the supplies for the new hire so I gave her a Staples catalog and told her to write down what she needs and I would purchase it for her. When she was finished I began looking through her order and noticed that all the things she was ordering were very girly. Every item she choose seemed to be pink or purple except for the mandatory things ( folders, pens, paper, etc.) well I ordered it and told her it would be here in a few days. The next day I come in and she was there bright and early decorating her cube with supplies she brought from home like pictures, drawings of her children, little flowers you stick on the glass and it made me realize how neat and decorated she was. I then began o look around at other cubes and noticed that almost all the females I work with have very neatly decorated cubes and a lot of color. I then looked at the male cubes and realized most of them were messy with very few decorations including mine. Even more I noticed that most of the men had only what they needed to do their job in their cubes and nothing more. Since I was taking this class I decided to Google “why are women so neat” and the results I got were pretty funny. One study were that Women are more organized than men, and it is tested. They took 4 groups, striate women, striate men, gay women and gay men. They gave all the same list of tasks to complete in one hour before going to work. On the list there were things like, making eggs for breakfast, making sandwiches, doing laundry, etc. The results were amazing the winners were the striate women, then the gay men, gay women, and last the striate men.
Friday, June 18, 2010
week 5 reply to Sara
I say that all the time to my nephews "stop crying like a little girl"! I even say it to my nieces. I wonder if thats just become a saying we say when we see whining. I'm actually really tough on my nephews. If they fall and hurt themselves I tell then to get up and shake it off like a man! My one nephew is pretty tough and usually hops right back up, the other one really is a little girl and crys all the time! Whats wrong with that boy Jeezzze! I'm kidding, but yes, I think parents should be tougher on boys and that they shouldnt cry like little girls. Now if I see my niece fall and hurt herself I pick her up immediately and comfort her. I would feel bad telling her to get up and shake it off.
week 5 reply to Michelle
I experienced a very similar situation at work this week. We were on a phone conference and one of the men a manager turned to his new hire a young pretty female and asked her to take notes. I then looked around the room and noticed most men were managers and every one of them had an administrative assistant that were female. Then I thought about all the hiring I've seen go on since I've been there and could not come up with 1 male that has been hired for that position and then I thought even further and realized I've nver seen a female hired by another female at this place. Is it me or are men hiring women for low level positions and men for upper level and at the same time are female managers hiring women or do female managers feel threatened by other female managers? I would think that female managers might want to hire other females to hiher positions because they know what it took for them to succeed but I'm not to sure this is the way it's happening.
Week 5 Gender moment
Well since we have been talking the gender gap and some discriminations against men I figured I would talk about a few things I've been noticing. First of all why do some places like bars or clubs have ladies night? Why can the never have mens night? I know the marketing strategy is to get women to come in and the men will follow but jeezzze can we have one night a month? Then why is it that some places charge women half the price men do to get in? Again I know its a marketing strategy but a discount for men once in a while would also be nice. The strategy is to get men to chase the women and it works. Men go to these places to find single women, end up spending tons of cash and 90% of the time go home single. Some women go to these places on purpose with absolutley no money and get drunk and have a great time for free thanks to all us stupid men. Do women feel bad accepting drinks from men even when they know they are not at all interested in them? My guess would be that most of them dont! Us men are pretty stupid and might do this 2 or 3 times a night. This ends up getting quite expensive.
Wekk after that I can now get into my gender moment. Last Saturday I went out with a few friends to a place where there was no cover for girls plus discounted drinks. The guys of course had to pay $10 to get in a and full price for drinks. So we get in and sit down and one of my friends says a girl across the bar keeps staring at him. I told him to go over and talk to her because he thought she was pretty but he's not that bold to approach just anyone. After a while in there he still notices her staring and finally he goes to talk to her. They talked for quite a while and bought her food and drinks. Well he ended up being right and this girl really was interested in him. So my question would be why is it that she felt she couldnt approach him. I asked her and she said that when she's interested in someone she will just make sure she makes eye contact more often and sooner or later the man will realize she's interested. So i was wondering if these tactics are used by more females. I dont know the answer but wuld like to know. If a guy likes a girl he usually just approaches her and in a few cases I've seen the girl approach the guy but not many. Well I guess that wuld be my gender moment of the week. Not that exciting I know but its been busy.
Wekk after that I can now get into my gender moment. Last Saturday I went out with a few friends to a place where there was no cover for girls plus discounted drinks. The guys of course had to pay $10 to get in a and full price for drinks. So we get in and sit down and one of my friends says a girl across the bar keeps staring at him. I told him to go over and talk to her because he thought she was pretty but he's not that bold to approach just anyone. After a while in there he still notices her staring and finally he goes to talk to her. They talked for quite a while and bought her food and drinks. Well he ended up being right and this girl really was interested in him. So my question would be why is it that she felt she couldnt approach him. I asked her and she said that when she's interested in someone she will just make sure she makes eye contact more often and sooner or later the man will realize she's interested. So i was wondering if these tactics are used by more females. I dont know the answer but wuld like to know. If a guy likes a girl he usually just approaches her and in a few cases I've seen the girl approach the guy but not many. Well I guess that wuld be my gender moment of the week. Not that exciting I know but its been busy.
Friday, June 11, 2010
wk 4 response to Sarah
It's funny what kids pick up on at such a young age. I have a niece who is 6 and nephews that are 4 and 5. We recently went on a long trip together and one of the boys said he had to go to the bathroom. Well we pulled over and he went and pissed on the tree, my niece then said she had to go the bathroom and insisted that she piss in the same manner that he did. found it rather amusing because she walked over there and not ine drop came out. I think she really just wanted to be like the boy and pee outside at her discretion. Haha! I thought it was so funny that she was really jealous of not being able to pee like the boys. She is the only girl around and has all male cousins. She is usually forced to do boy activities but she enjoys it. The funny thing is that she is the biggest girly girl and if she gets the opportunity to be around other little girls she will leave those boys in a second!
Blog wk 4
Well here’s my gender moment of the week. Two weeks ago I got pulled over by a state trooper on the highway for going a few miles over the speed limit, the trooper happened to be a female. She comes to the car and gave me more attitude than I can ever remember by a cop. She simply asked for my paperwork and when I asked why I was being pulled over she said “don’t worry about it, it will say why on the ticket I’m about to give you” I could help but laugh when she said that even though it was probably the rudest way she could of put it. Well after she went to the car she came back and not only gave me a ticket for speeding but another one for laughing at her. I couldn’t believe this women did that! Well last night a female friend tells me she gets pulled over by a male cop and that he just let her go when she was over 30 miles above the speed limit. I asked her how many points she had on her license and she said none. I then asked her how many times she has been pulled over and let go? She said more than she can count but one time she did get pulled over by a female that didn’t let her go. Well she is very attractive and it then occurred to me that male police officers have been letting good looking females get away with breaking the law just for being cute. Something is wrong with that picture to me! I guess it pays to be an attractive female and saves you money!
It seems as if female officers have a lot to prove and neither let male or females get away with much. It always seems as if they need to act a little tougher or be a bit more aggressive just because they are females in the position they are in. I think its very sexist and unfair the way people get treated first because of gender and then because of attractiveness. I bet this goes on a lot more than I know of and possibly happened to a few of you in this class.
It seems as if female officers have a lot to prove and neither let male or females get away with much. It always seems as if they need to act a little tougher or be a bit more aggressive just because they are females in the position they are in. I think its very sexist and unfair the way people get treated first because of gender and then because of attractiveness. I bet this goes on a lot more than I know of and possibly happened to a few of you in this class.
Friday, June 4, 2010
Response to Sarah week 3
I cant say the same happens to me when I go to stores. They seem to bother me the minute I walk in the door and usually I dont want them to. I do remember going to a store with my girlfriend where the store associate decided to flirt with my girl in front of me, well not actually in front of me. I walked in a little after her and when I came up he stopped talking but I did notice the conversation had nothing to do with anything they sold in the store. Well that brings me to another point. Has this ever happened to you? A guy hitting on you even when he knows you have a boyfriend. I think it actually happens quite often and have seen it happen many times myself. OK, maybe I'm a little off topic here, sorry!
Response to Ashley week 3
Ashley, I dont know if I could of made the same decision as you as far as letting the boys wear dresses. I think as a dad I would have been a tad upset seeing my boy in a dress especially at school. I understand the boy wanted the dress but I think you might have been better off explaining to him that dresses are for girls. I am not a homophobe or anything but Theres just some things that young children should know at that age and cross dressing is one of them. If I were that boys dad I might have mentioned it to you in a polite way and kindly asked that you not let my son dress like a girl.
Gender moment week 3
HHmm well I dont know if I had a gender moment this week it was kind of busy. Ohh I think I have one. I went to a happy hour the other day with a few coworkers and actually they do this every week. The happy hour always gets set up by another coworker that happens to be an attractive female. She happens to be one of very few attractive women that we work with. Well every week we all go and I notice that as soon as she leaves everyone decides to leave too. No one thinks about going home until she decides its time to go. I wonder if everyone going there is just trying to hit on her or what? There's something else too. I think that she loves the attention she gets. I wonder if this is a gender thing where females like to get attention or does it vary by individual only? Either way I've tried not to follow the crowd and actually stay most of the time even when she leaves. I find it interesting how males chase females around in most cases. I do know of a few cases where its the other way around but like I said only a few. Is it the way we were raised or society brought us up? Why is it wrong when a female chases men around or if a female asks a guy for his phone number. I know it happens but not as often as the other way around. Alot of my female friends go out with each other and could spend a whole night out at a club dancing and having fun with each other where in cases where men go out with each other its usually to meet girls or at least try. Is it because females get hit on so often that it gets old and they could really care less? I dont know but alot of my female friends say thats exactly what it is.
Thursday, May 27, 2010
Gender moment of the day.. well after going through this weeks assignment on the discussion board it had me thinking about the use of terms we use to describe the opposite sex. I was sitting outside of my work with a couple co workers who happen to be males and a visitor entered our building and walked by us. After we practically stared at this woman walk by one of the guys broke the silence with "Damn that bitch got a fat ass"! well most of the guys out there were like yeah she do but it made me think how we were just having this discussion in class and how common it is to use these terms in such a non shalant way. I didnt say anything to anyone but I sure did think it.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
